Maine licensing process
Maine uses a multistage licensing process for teens. This system allows teens to gradually gain exposure to complex driving situations, easing them into driving over an extended period of time.
Stage 1: Apply for a learner’s permit
- Must be at least 15 years old
- If under 18 years old, complete an approved driver’s education course
- If 18 years old, apply for a permit at a BMV office after passing a written test and vision screening
Stage 2: Apply for an intermediate license
- Must be at least 16 years old and have held a permit for at least six months
- Log and show proof of 70 hours of driving practice, including 10 at night
- Pass a behind-the-wheel test and show proof of insurance
- Teens under 18 years old with an intermediate license may not:
- Use a cellphone or handheld electronic device while driving
- Drive between midnight and 5 a.m.
- Drive with passengers who are not immediate family members unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 20 years old and sitting in the front passenger seat
Stage 3: Get a full license
- Teens who hold an intermediate license for at least 270 days are eligible for an unrestricted provisional license
- The provisional license period lasts two years; a person convicted of a moving violation within that period will have their license suspended for 30 days1
1Under Maine law, those young drivers who obtain their license before the age of 21 are considered juvenile provisional.